Introduction

This is my first year teaching online and I honestly have mixed feelings. I enjoy the fact that I get to spend more time with my family and doing the things that I enjoy while making my own schedule. I also enjoy my new co-workers and the fact that they are easy to talk to and get along with.

However, I’m having a difficult time when it comes to communications with the students. Much of my teaching style involves making kids laugh, being silly and having a good time. I often, in an in-person setting, make a lot of Jokes which is really tough to do in an online setting. Tone can easily be misconstrued as being mean or degrading so you have to be very careful with what you say and how you word it. This has been a challenge for me as I said that my teaching style usually involves me making light or jokes in some situations.

One solution that I found to portray my certain sense of humor to the students is memes. I have been finding funny memes to post on my weekly announcements or almost any chance that I get. I hope that the kids are understanding my sense of humor and find it funny I personally smile every time I open up my class and see the announcements.

Published by

Katie Bouldin

I have been teaching for 3 years. My first teaching job was a long-term subbing position at Standish and Sterling Elementary Schools. I understand that this isn't exactly an official teaching job. However, I did all of the things that a regular teacher would do. My first “official” teaching job was at Arenac Eastern Schools where I taught Music, Drama, and Computers for Kindergarten through 12th grade. I worked there up until last year when my school closed down. Now I work for Michigan Virtual and own a photography business on the side. Some of my favorite hobbies include sewing, hunting and fishing, and spending time with my dog Maggie.

4 thoughts on “Introduction”

  1. Katie, communication is such a huge part of our jobs as online teachers — and it is an adjustment as you begin communicating with students solely online. Sounds like you are finding your way to bring your personality into your communications with students. It’s so important for online students to connect with their teachers, and this is a great way to start that connection!

  2. There is definitely a learning curve when you transition from f2f to online teaching! Much like you had to find the teacher voice and persona that fit you in the f2f classroom, you have to find that same fit in the online classroom. You will find that fit before you know it!

  3. I couldn’t agree more Katie. I loved using light humor and goofiness in my f2f classroom and I’m still learning how to develop that tone in my online courses. I know it’s achievable. I’ve been fortunate enough to get a peek into many instructor’s classrooms and I see warmth, caring, humor – real personality shining through. I’m confident we can get there too.

  4. Katie, as you get used to meeting with your students in Bb Communicate or Adobe Connect, that humor is huge in generating student involvement in your course. I also use a lot of humor in F2F classes and when students have earphones in the online environment and can hear my voice, getting silly or making jokes can really help create a comfort level with them.
    I feel it makes a huge difference in how frequently they ask for help learning difficult concepts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *